Meth in Texas

September 19, 2012

Methamphetamines have become a major problem in Texas in recent years. This has resulted in judges and law enforcement taking a harder stance against those accused of meth possession. If you are facing charges of possession of methamphetamines, you are facing serious consequences including prison time. Having a defense attorney on your side during this difficult time could improve your chances at obtaining a positive result.

 

Meth is classified with the most addictive and dangerous drugs under Texas law. This means that you will face the harshest possible penalties if convicted of possession of methamphetamine. While no attorney can guarantee results, your attorney should be able to promise their tireless effort towards a potential positive resolution on your case.

The penalties for possession of meth are high. This table reflects the maximum allowable penalties under Texas law.

 

 

 

 

Amount of Meth Offense Classification Penalty
Less than 1 gram State jail felony Up to 2 years in prison and $10,000
1 gram- 3.99 grams 3rd degree felony 2-10 yrs. in prison and $10,000
4- 199 grams 2nd degree felony 2- 20 yrs. in prison and $10,000
200- 399 grams 1st degree felony 5- 99 yrs. in prison and $10,000
400 grams + Enhanced 1st degree felony 10- 99 yrs. in prison and $100,000
 
As you can see, the penalty you face is directly dependent on the amount of meth you are charged with possessing. Also, your sentence depends on your criminal history, the facts of your case, and the prosecutor and judge you are working with.
You can call our office to schedule a free consultation for your criminal case today!